top of page
  • Writer's pictureBecca

Planning For After University

One of my roles in the group is marketing. As part of this role, I wanted to look at possibilities for the team after university has ended. I know it's not directly related, but researching and business stuff are things I really enjoy doing. The team said they were comfortable with me taking over this role as everyone else found it too stressful.


I want everyone to be aware of all the options we have if we did want to take the project further after university. I was really inspired at how the makers of Maive (a team from last year) are going on to create a Kickstarter and it made me hopeful that I might be able to do something similar. I know that Bayley is interested in freelancing and Newt would like to work on their own projects if possible. Working on my own projects is something I'm primarily interested in. I don't want to push people into working on the game after university if they don't want to, but I still think it would be helpful if the team knew that was an option, and how we would go about that.


We've had a talk from the Eagles Lab and Barclays bank about getting funding to make our game, but the others in the team didn't seem interested in getting investors. They were more interested in crowdfunding. I've talked to the team about crowdfunding our game at the end of the year and everyone seems interested, however, people have said they find thinking about this very stressful. And I agree. It is VERY stressful, but I also enjoy planning for this sort of stuff.


To make this as stressfree for my team as possible I want to research how we would crowdfund and how we would prepare for a Kickstarter/IndieGoGo (this would also include business things, which the team also doesn't enjoy doing.) This way I can present the options to my team with a straight forward plan and we can decide what we want to do. I want to start doing this as soon as possible because I don't want to leave it until the last moment.


On top of crowdfunding, I want to look at other options such as grants that we could apply for if we wanted to work on the game after university. I'd like to put together a spreadsheet of grants available to us, the requirements we'd need to meet and the deadlines to apply. I think this would be the easiest way to present the information to the group.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Team Management

We decided that we weren’t going to give ourselves official roles, instead, we were going to work collaboratively and assign tasks together based on what people were good at and what people wanted to

Grants and Loans

Expanding on what I mentioned in my Planning For After University post I've created a spreadsheet of available funds and grants. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1rCPDAG0NxX-W_YH-uJhFetglw4REh3S

My Role In The Group

As mention in Marketing, MECHANICS FOR JANITOR GAME and Level Design my main roles in the group are marketing, mechanics and level design. Although our roles in the group are flexible and we all think

bottom of page